Victor
Yudaev

Studio:
19 boulevard Boisson
Fr-13004 Marseille

BIOGRAPHY

 

Victor Yudaev is a graduate of the Royal Academy of Art, The Hague and ENSBA, Lyon in 2015. Victor Yudaev has taken part of Lyon Biennial at IAC Villeurbanne (2018) and has been selected for the 20th Prize of Fondation Ricard (2018). Récent exhibitions include: « The Swimers » (solo) at Diagonale, Montréal and « Suffis-toi d’un buis » at Ménagerie de Verre, Paris.

Born in 1984, Moscow (Russia).

www.victorvictor.info

It’s no coincidence that we glimpse Victor near to the port. He’s going to swim, he tells us it’s genetic. Lightly stooping, he advances softly, a relaxed and slightly clumsy allure, drugged. He evokes his recent work for a bald woman: “I made her a wig and then a cap and we ended up changing all the decor”. He sports a hesitant smile.

Victor looks for where to swim, somewhere where there’ll be no-one “the naked body… hmm… it’s too much, even a kiss makes me blush”, the place the most deserted and hidden “there are the abstract marks of fish and they’re beautiful”, these places are the most dangerous, there are big rocks that cut without apology and the sea that dries the mouth and absorbs tears. Yet, Victor sees only tainted windows, frozen dummies in an unfinished suggestion, without speech, prices, without arms. But above all he sees his own reflections: “I’m trapped in the dream of someone I don’t know”.

Victor decides to return to the studio: “there’s not enough time to explain”.

Victor works like he walks. He walks like he dreams; he swims. Maybe he walks working, sleeps swimming. “I dream of living in one of Philip Guston’s paintings: shoes, cigarettes, clocks, fire, hell. It’s almost deja vu”. In his studio, we see objects scattered everywhere, even though “there is a mysterious logic”, we smell the odour of papier d’Arménie.

Victor works, he promises. He puts together what’s missing, he reunites what joins up. He writes as much as he composes. He constructs a cast of objects and ideas; depending on sensitive and mathematical criteria. These signs are hazardous and irrefutable. He positions us at the heart of a narration to be experimented, between connivance and curiosity. Victor arrests us with the use of archetypes, personal anecdotes: with many clues of a script to be interpreted. There are as many doors in to his narratives as false paths which aren’t there.

Media Naranja

But the cloud, Intersections

Victor Yudaev, But the cloud, Intersections, exhibition view, Art Rotterdam, Van Nellefabrieck, 2017

Victor en me

Victor Yudaev, Victor en me, vue d’exposition, Project space 1646, Rotterdam, 2017

mais; y a-t-il rien de central

Victor Yudaev, mais; y a-t-il rien de central, installation, 20th Prize de la Fondation d’entreprise Ricard, Paris

 

MN_01

Victor Yudaev, exhibition view, MN_01, Curated by Media Naranja, Marseille, 2018.

Victor
Yudaev

Atelier :
19 boulevard Boisson
Fr-13004 Marseille

BIOGRAPHIE

Victor Yudaev est diplômé de l’Académie des Beaux-arts de La Haye et de l’ENSBA de Lyon en 2015, il vit aujourd’hui en France. Victor Yudaev a participé à la Biennale de Lyon en 2017 et est sélectionné pour le 20e Prix de la Fondation d’entreprise Ricard en 2018. En janvier 2019 il est invité à Montréal pour une exposition personnelle à Diagonale.

Né en 1984 à Moscou (Russie).

Ça n’est pas par hasard que nous apercevons Victor près du port. Il va se baigner, il nous dit que c’est génétique. Légèrement vouté, il avance doucement, une allure détendue et un peu malhabile, camé. Il évoque son récent travail pour une femme chauve : « je lui avais fait une perruque et après une casquette et on a fini par changer tout le décor ». Il arbore un sourire hésitant.

Victor cherche où il va se baigner, un endroit où il n’y a personne « le corps nu…hmm… c’est trop, même un baiser me faire rougir », l’endroit le plus déserté et caché, « là-bas il y a des tâches de poissons abstraites et elles sont très belles », ces endroits sont les plus dangereux, il y a des grandes roches qui coupent sans pardon et la mer qui sèche la bouche et absorbe des larmes. Cependant, Victor ne voit que des vitrines teintées, des mannequins figés dans une proposition inachevée, sans parole, des prix, sans bras. Mais surtout il voit ses propres réflexions : « je suis piégé dans le rêve de quelqu’un que je ne connais pas ».

Victor décide de retourner à l’atelier, « il n’a pas assez de temps pour l’expliquer ».

Victor travaille comme il marche. Il marche comme il rêve; il se baigne. Peut être qu’il marche en travaillant, s’endort en se baignant. « Je rêve de vivre dans un des tableaux de Phillip Guston : des chaussures, des cigarettes, des horloges, le feu, l’enfer. Or, c’est presque le déjà-vu ». Dans son atelier, on voit des objets qui sont éparpillés partout même si « il y a une logique mystérieuse », on sent l’odeur du papier d’Arménie.

Victor travaille, il le jure. Il assemble ce qui manque, il réunit ce qui se rejoint. Il écrit autant qu’il compose. Il élabore un casting d’objets et d’idées; selon des critères sensibles et mathématiques. Ces signes sont hasardeux et irréfutables. Ils nous positionnent au sein d’une narration à expérimenter, entre connivence et curiosité. Victor nous interpelle par l’utilisation de certains archétypes, d’anecdotes personnelles : de multiples indices d’un scénario à interpréter. Il y a autant d’entrées dans ses récits que de fausses pistes qui n’en étaient pas.

Media Naranja

But the cloud, Intersections

Victor Yudaev, But the cloud, Intersections, vue d’exposition, Art Rotterdam, Van Nellefabrieck, 2017

Victor en me

Victor Yudaev, Victor en me, vue d’exposition, Project space 1646, Rotterdam, 2017

mais; y a-t-il rien de central

Victor Yudaev, mais; y a-t-il rien de central, installation, 20e Prix de la Fondation d’entreprise Ricard, Paris

MN_01

Victor Yudaev, vue d’exposition, MN_01, galerie Crèvecoeur, commissariat : Media Naranja, 2018.